Lifestyle Spiritual Development

The 7 Chakras: Simplified

Now, some of you might have heard of chakra energies before and thought it was just a made up, magical word just for yogis and hippies, but I’m here to tell you the truth about chakras – everyone has them, and everyone benefits from healing and balancing them. Let me simplify it for you:

If you’ve ever taken physics, you will know that an electron is constantly spinning around the proton in an atom, and atoms make up the entire universe. When the electron spins, it energizes the atom, giving it it’s life. So if atoms make up the entire universe, that means that the entire universe is made up of energy.

The energies that we have in our body are called Chakras. Chakra literally means “wheel” in ancient Sanskrit. It is energy that is constantly spinning, just like a wheel. It can be spinning too fast (which makes it TOO energized) or too slow (which makes it not energized enough), and can even be completely blocked from spinning. All of these states are not ideal, as naturally our body wants to be in a state of balance.

There are 7 Chakras and each one of them have their own individual characteristics:

  • Each one has a color – every color of the rainbow has its own frequency and wavelength of visible sight. Therefore, each chakra is also associated with that specific frequency/wavelength.
  • Each one is physically located somewhere on our body along the entire nervous system, starting at the base of the spine and ending at the top of our brain.
  • Each one is also associated with different glands of the endocrine system.

Due to all three of those characteristics, each one is related to different spiritual/energetic, mental, and physical ailments (although I won’t be touching the physical aspect of it in too much detail in this article).

Here’s the quick and easy-to-understand overview of each one:

First Chakra: The Root Chakra ​

The root chakra is responsible for how secure you feel about your basic survival needs. It keeps you grounded to the Earth and anchored to your own consciousness, giving you an overall feeling of safety. So when this chakra is balanced, you feel secure being able to meet your needs such as food, shelter, money, or love. ​

Color: red
Location: base of your spine, right at the tailbone.
Gland: adrenal
Most common physical issue: lower back problems
Mental/emotional issues: constant feeling of anxiety or panic; feeling threatened; not being able to provide for oneself or stand up for oneself; worried about one’s health, safety, or loss of basic life needs (food, shelter, money, love).

Second Chakra: Sacral Plexus Chakra

The sacral plexus chakra is your body’s center for creativity and sexuality. It allows you to express both your creative and sexual side in a healthy manner, and to feel these experiences fully at the emotional level. It allows for you to create and sustain healthy relationships with ourselves and others, sexually and platonically. It is also related to your personal relationship with money, helping you to maintain and manifest your own abundance.

Color: orange
Location: two inches below your belly button
Gland: reproductive glands (ovaries, testes)
Most common physical issue: reproductive and urological problems; low sex drive
Mental/emotional issues: problems with sex and/or relationships; loss of creativity; boredom; guilt, blame and shame

The Third Chakra: Solar Plexus Chakra

The solar plexus chakra is associated with your personality and sense of self-worth and self-esteem. When this is in balance, we are fully confident in ourselves and empower ourselves to take control of our lives. ​

Color: yellow
Location: two inches above your belly button
Gland: pancreas; adrenal
Most common physical issue: digestive problems; fatigue
Mental/emotional issues: lack of self-esteem, self-respect, self-confidence; feelings of inadequacy; easily intimidated or offended

The Fourth Chakra: The Heart Chakra

The heart chakra is the main connection to your ability to feel love and compassion for yourself and for others. It is also the bridge between your physical self (represented by the first three chakras) and your spiritual self (represented by the 5th, 6th, and 7th chakras). When this chakra is balanced, you can harvest and manifest love, joy, and compassion. You are more empathetic and forgiving.

Color: green
Location: center of the chest
Gland: thymus
Most common physical issue: high blood pressure
Mental/emotional issues: resentment; grief; loss of love, compassion, or hope; unable to relate to others; unable to trust others; depression

The Fifth Chakra: The Throat Chakra

The throat chakra is all about self-expression and communication. It allows for you to speak your truth in a healthy and effective manner. When it is balanced, you are able to be completely authentic towards people and well understood by others. You know exactly what to say and how to say it.

Color: blue
Location: middle of the throat
Gland: thyroid 
Most common physical issue: neck pain
Mental/emotional issues: hard time standing up for yourself or speaking your mind; holding onto secrets; inability to communicate

The Sixth Chakra: The Third Eye Chakra

The third eye represents your intuition – seeing things that you cannot see with your own two eyes. It allows you to trust your gut instincts and simply see the bigger picture past the surface level. When this chakra is in balance, we are truly in tune between our physical and spiritual self.

Color: indigo
Location: center of your eyebrows
Gland: pituitary 
Most common physical issue: trouble sleeping
Mental/emotional issues: depressive state of mind; feeling “stuck” in your life; difficult time making decisions

The Seventh Chakra: The Crown Chakra

The crown chakra is the highest state of consciousness you can reach. It’s difficult to explain how it feels until you reach it, but it is just an overall feeling of connection to the world around you. You are accepting, life-loving, wise, and closer to the Divine than ever. ​

Color: purple
Location: top of your head
Gland: pineal
Most common physical issue: chronic headaches
Mental/emotional issues: psychological issues; symptoms of depression

Now, why am I talking about this and what does this have to do with your personal life, success, goals, etc.? Well, a balanced chakra system is so important for “boss lady” manifestations because ultimately, the energy you create and put out in the universe is the energy you will receive back. Therefore, creating a balance between our own energies is crucial in becoming exactly who we are meant to be. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: